Wisconsin Volunteer Coordinators Association

Voices for Volunteerism

The WVCA annually recognizes a volunteer manager within the organization that receives the Professional Achievement Award. This award is given to someone who is nominated as being an outstanding manager of volunteer services, is a leader among peers, involved in the community and a resource to other volunteer managers. This award is given each year at the WVCA Annual Conference (May 2-3, 2019 in Appleton, Wisconsin). The award recipient will receive from WVCA a personal gift, free registration to the current year WVCA state conference, recognition at this year’s conference, and a monetary gift of $100.00 (check) to the charity of the winner’s choosing.


  • Attendance at the current WVCA conference.
  • Paid volunteer management position
  • Outstanding manager of volunteers:
    • May include achievements in recruitment, screening, training, retention, recognition, fundraising, or initiating new programs. Indicate the manager’s years of experience and the number of volunteers managed.
  • Leader among peers:
    • May include member/officer of a professional organization.
  • Involved in their community:
    • May include service as well as job duties.
  • Current member of WVCA as of February 1st of the current year.
  • Resource to other managers:
    • May include consulting, seminar speaking, or member of a community coalition/organization.


Past Winners of the WVCA Professional Achievement Award

2019- Shelly Kaiser

2018- Shawn Steen 

2017- Ruth Morgan

2016-Mary Petillo

2015-Barb Horneck

2014-Carol Bloemer

2013-Stu Driessen

2012-Jim Radey

2011-Joy Alexander

2010-Linda Jahns

2009-Anne Strauch

2008-Cheryl Schmitz

2007-Karen Foust

2006-Ruthis Lombardo

2005-John Nieman

2004-Judy Richey

2003-Marti Sowka

2002-Chris Rodriguez

2001-Glen Tilot

2000-Joanie Johnson

1999-Marge Bader

1998-Julia Drobeck

1997-Susan Larson